15 June 2022

Māori All Blacks squad named for two-match Ireland

It will be the first time the Māori All Blacks have played Ireland since 2010 with the two highly anticipated mid-week matches to be played at FMG Stadium Waikato in Hamilton (Wednesday, 29 June) and Sky Stadium in Wellington (Tuesday, 12 July).

Tickets are available from tickets.allblacks.com with both matches to be live and exclusive on Sky.

“We are expecting a fierce challenge from Ireland, to be playing a tier one nation at home in Aotearoa has been long awaited. The squad named is a mix of experienced players who know how to perform at this level, and players that bring fresh perspective and energy to the game,” McMillan said.

“We are lucky to have three experienced All Blacks in the squad in TJ Perenara (Ngāti Rangitihi), Brad Weber (Ngāti Porou) and Tyrel Lomax (Muaupoko / Ngāi Tūhoe), I’m looking forward to the passion and knowledge they will bring. This is also a great opportunity for our 11 new caps, there is immense pride in pulling on the Māori All Blacks jersey and with that representing their heritage, their whānau, and their country.

“These two fixtures against Ireland will allow players to showcase what they have and put their best foot forward on an international stage. The presence of two former Māori All Blacks in the Ireland side, Jamison Gibson-Park (Ngāti Porou / Ngāi Tai) and James Lowe (Ngāpuhi / Ngāi Te Rangi) adds to the special nature of this match.”

McMillan and his co-coaches Roger Randle and Chris Gibbes will announce their captain in due course.

The Māori All Blacks have played Ireland on just two previous occasions, the most famous being the New Zealand Natives 13-4 win at Landsdowne Road in Dublin in 1888. The only other match between the two sides was in 2010 at Rotorua International Stadium where the Māori All Blacks won a thrilling match 31-28. 

Māori All Blacks Squad: *denotes new caps


Tamaiti Williams - Ngāpuhi (Canterbury/Crusaders)

Ollie Norris - Ngāpuhi (Waikato/Chiefs)

Marcel Renata - Ngāti Whānaunga / Ngāi Takoto (Auckland/Blues)

Jermaine Ainsley* - Te Rārawa / Te Arawa (Otago/Highlanders)

Tyrel Lomax - Muaupoko / Ngāi Tūhoe (Tasman/Hurricanes)


Leni Apisai - Ngāti Awa (Auckland)

Kurt Eklund - Ngāti Kahu (Bay of Plenty/Blues)

Tyrone Thompson* - Ngāi Tāmanuhiri / Ngāti Rangiwewehi (Hawke’s Bay/Chiefs) 


Isaia Walker-Leawere - Ngāti Porou (Hawke's Bay/Hurricanes)

Manaaki Selby-Rickit - Ngāti Raukawa / Ngāti Tūwharetoa (Bay of Plenty/Highlanders)

Josh Dickson - Ngāi Tahu (Otago/Highlanders)

Loose Forwards

Reed Prinsep - Te Rārawa (Canterbury/Hurricanes)

Caleb Delany* - Ngāti Tūwharetoa (Wellington/Hurricanes)

Billy Harmon - Ngāi Tahu (Canterbury/Highlanders)

Te Kamaka (TK) Howden* - Ngāi Tūhoe (Manawatū/Hurricanes)

Cameron Suafoa* - Ngāpuhi (Auckland/Blues)

Half Backs

TJ Perenara* - Ngāti Rangitihi (Wellington/Hurricanes)

Brad Weber - Ngāti Porou (Hawke's Bay/Chiefs)

First Five

Josh Ioane - Te Rārawa (Otago/Chiefs)

Ruben Love* - Te Atiawa (Wellington/Hurricanes)


Alex Nankivell - Ngāti Pikiao (Tasman/Chiefs)

Rameka Poihipi - Ngāti Whakaue (Canterbury/Chiefs)

Billy Proctor - Ngāi Te Rangi / Ngāpuhi (Wellington/Hurricanes)

Bailyn Sullivan* - Ngāti Kahungunu (Waikato/Hurricanes)

Outside Backs

Connor Garden-Bachop* - Ngāti Awa (Wellington/Highlanders)

Josh Moorby* - Ngāti Maniapoto (Northland/Hurricanes)

Zarn Sullivan* - Ngāti Kahungunu (Auckland/Blues)

Shaun Stevenson - Ngāpuhi (North Harbour/Chiefs)


Recent News